What are the first things I should do after an auto accident?
California is already known for its traffic and congested freeways. With so many cars on the road everyday, auto accidents are bound to happen. Even though auto accident rates are high, every individual has their own story, and Eldessouky Law lawyers believe that you deserve to have your rights upheld by making sure you receive adequate compensation. But before you get involved in a lawsuit, there are something’s you need to make sure you do in order to build a strong case. If you find yourself in an auto accident, here are the first things you should do:
- Stay at the scene
- Protect the scene by putting up flares or keeping flashers on
- Call the police
- Give an accurate record to the police
- Take pictures of car damage and injuries
- Exchange information with everyone involved
- Report the accident to your insurance company
- Seek medical attention
- Keep a file of all related documents
- Consult a Eldessouky Law attorney
Remember, California Vehicle Code section 20008 requires a driver involved in an auto accident to report the accident within 24 hours. If the police arrive at the scene, they will make an accident report, otherwise you will have to make a written one yourself and send it to the police department of California Highway Patrol. It’s also important to keep all medical bills and documents as well as any other related documents. The more you can bring to your attorney for your consultation, the better. Taking picture will be crucial as well, these can help one of our auto accident attorneys give you accurate legal advice.
Why should I consult with an attorney if I have been in an auto accident?
California has a comparative negligence rule. This means that you have the potential to recover damages from any other party who is at fault in an auto accident, regardless of the degree of your own fault. However, your compensation will be reduced based on how much your fault attributed to the accident. For example, if your total damages added up to $10,000 but you were deemed 15% at fault, then you would be awarded $8,5000. Your insurance company will also use this as a way to determine how much they will cover, and will most likely try to get you the least amount of compensation by deciding you had a higher degree of fault. If you get in an accident with someone that is uninsured, you will have to see if your insurance covers uninured motorists. This will determine if you can get your medical bills paid for or not. Working with insurance companies can be tricky, and maneuvering these specifics will be more successfully accomplished with the help of one of our auto accident lawyers serving Downey, California. If you have been in an auto accident, it’s time for you to call Eldessouky Law at 714-409-8991 and get in touch with one of our skilled auto accident attorneys.
What am I entitled to if I have been in an auto accident?
If your insurance company does not offer you a satisfactory amount of compensation, you can file a lawsuit. In doing this, you may be able to recover not only medical bills and lost wages, but additional damages such as pain and suffering and emotional stress. The amount you can receive will depend heavily on proving negligence by the opposing driver, but like it was mentioned earlier, fault can be assigned to multiple parties. In California, you have two years from the date of the accident. If you do not become aware of an injury until later, then you have two years from that date to file your claim. In order to recover more from you auto accident, you will want to get in contact with a Downey auto accident lawyer immediately.
Why is Eldessouky Law best?
Eldessouky Law lawyers have worked on many auto accident cases and understand how to fight against greedy insurance companies. We understand the significance of an auto accident and how it can impact all areas of life. They are also simply, scary incidents that can really rattle someone. Here at our firm, we don’t want you to have to face this situation alone. If you call our office, you can schedule a free consultation with an experienced auto accident lawyer who will give you great legal advice on how to proceed. We also do not want you to lose any more financially. This is why we will take on your case free of charge. We will not ask for any upfront fees, and if we do not win your case, you will still not owe us anything. This is our zero fee guarantee and our way of showing that we care more about your case than your money.